Share this

Spellchasers: The Magical New Trilogy by Lari Don

Posted on 18/03/2016 in Competitions

Spellchasers Book 1: The Beginner's Guide to Curses5 Things You Need to Know About Spellchasers

We spoke to Lari Don, author of the Fabled Beast Chronicles, Rocking Horse War and now The Beginner’s Guide to Curses, to find out what you need to know about her new Spellchasers trilogy.

How long have you been working on this new trilogy?

I scribbled down an interesting question about magic when I was editing Storm Singing, about five years ago, then that question suddenly became a whole living idea four years ago. I started turning that idea into the book – The Beginner’s Guide To Curses – three years ago. And I realised I was writing a trilogy two years ago! (Writing is a long process…)


Are these books related to the Fabled Beast Chronicles?

The idea for the magical problem in the Spellchasers trilogy rose directly out of one line in a Fabled Beast Chronicles book, but there aren’t any FBC characters in the trilogy. There are lots of other fabled beasts though! And I’ve deliberately set this adventure in a part of Scotland that Helen, Yann and their friends didn’t visit in their travels. (Speyside, where I grew up.)

Tell us about some of the characters!

The first character you’ll meet is a girl called Molly, who’s just been cursed to turn into a hare at inconvenient times (like when she’s being chased by a greyhound…) Molly enrolls on a curse-lifting workshop, where she meets a boy called Innes, who’s not always a boy; a girl called Beth, who’s quite rude and has purple hair; a large black cat with wings, who’s called Atacama; and a toad. (No-one knows what the toad is called. Not even me.) There are also witches, crows and wyrms… And that’s just the first book. There will be new characters and new dangers in each of the other two books as well!

Will there be a happy ending?

You’ll have to read it to find out!

Somehow we knew that would be your answer…

The Spellchasers Trilogy

The Beginner’s Guide to Curses is just the start of the story. Look out for The Shapeshifter’s Guide to Running Away and The Witch’s Guide to Magical Combat next year!



Explore the blog by category

Click to select a category.