Share this

Six Lives of Fankle the Cat

George Mackay Brown


Also available as: eBook

Range: Kelpies Paperback 128 pages 198 x 130 mm ISBN: 9780863159824 Publication date: 15 November 2012
Genres: Animals, Humour Ideal for ages: 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 Kelpies Classics series

All cats have nine lives but Fankle's are running out -- especially when Tom Strynd threatens to drown him. Rescued by Jenny Thomson, whose mother hates cats, his life expectancy seems limited, until fate intervenes.

But Fankle is no ordinary cat: he can talk. As he settles down to a new life in Orkney, he tells the rip-roaring adventures of his past lives.


'Reading this book is pure joy.'
-- The Scotsman

'A book to be read aloud and enjoyed by adults and children alike.'
-- Shelf Life, Summer 2002

'The theme of the book is the power of narrative. Living as she does for story making, Jenny projects her skill on to Fankle. The village schoolchildren are asked to write about Fankle, and their efforts make up the central chapter of the novel. There is stimulus here for readers' own writing. Mackay Brown modulates the mood delicately -- amusing, roistering, and touching. Underlying there is a wistful reminder that all lives, not only Fankle's, are brief and that humans, unlike cats, have only one.'
-- Treasure Island: A guide to Scottish fiction for young readers aged 10-14, Summer 2003

Six Lives of Fankle the Cat


The work of George Mackay Brown (1921-96) is defined by the spirit and history of the Orkney islands. He managed to give the culture, land and oral tradition of the islands universal significance. Throughout his prolific writing career, he found inspiration in the history and…

read more >