Share this

Six Lives of Fankle the Cat

George Mackay Brown


Also available as: Paperback

Range: Kelpies eBook 128 pages ISBN: 9781782503088 Publication date: 18th February 2016
Genre: Traditional stories Ideal for ages: 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 Kelpies Classics series
All cats have nine lives but Fankle's are running out -- especially when Tom Strynd threatens to drown him. Rescued by Jenny Thomson, whose mother hates cats, his life expectancy seems limited, until fate intervenes.

But Fankle is no ordinary cat: he can talk. As he settles down to a new life in Orkney, he tells the rip-roaring adventures of his past lives.


'Reading this book is pure joy.'
-- The Scotsman

'A book to be read aloud and enjoyed by adults and children alike.'
-- Shelf Life

'Mackay Brown modulates the mood delicately -- amusing, roistering, and touching.'
-- Treasure Island: A guide to Scottish fiction for young readers aged 10-14

Six Lives of Fankle the Cat


The work of George Mackay Brown (1921-96) is defined by the spirit and history of the Orkney islands. He managed to give the culture, land and oral tradition of the islands universal significance. Throughout his prolific writing career, he found inspiration in the history and…

read more >