Share this

Kelpies Prize 2017 – Shortlist announced

Posted on 21/06/2017 in Edinburgh International Book Festival The Kelpies Prize

Our Shortlist

Thank you to all the authors who submitted their titles for consideration for the Kelpies Prize 2017! After receiving a record number of entries, we are thrilled to announce that this year’s shortlisted books are:

  • Lottie Larkin’s Magical Mishap by Kate Bolden
    A fresh and funny adventure set in Glasgow’s hidden magical streets.
  • David and the Surprisingly Smart-o-saurus by Debbie Cannon
    A fun-packed story of an 11-year-old boy’s unlikely meeting with a dinosaur.
  • The Girl Who Lost Her Shadow by Emily Ilett
    A story about bravery, the power of friendship, and being strong enough to ask for help.

The winner of the Kelpies Prize 2017 will be announced on 23rd August at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. To find out more about about the books and authors you can read our shortlist information sheet.

Kelpies Prize 2018 – Watch This Space

Do you have a brilliant idea for a children’s novel set in Scotland? Don’t worry if you missed the deadline for this year’s prize, as the Kelpies Prize 2018 will be launched soon. Watch this space for more information.

Kelpies Prize – Previous Winners

Hearty congratulations to Elizabeth Ezra, who was awarded the Kelpies Prize 2016 for her sassy witch story, Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic! Elizabeth’s debut novel will be published this October. Find out more about our most recent winners below, or see our full list of previous winners and shortlisters.

Ruby McCraken: Tragic Without Magic

2016 winner
Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic
by Elizabeth Ezra

Slugboy Saves the World

2015 winner
Slugboy Saves the World
by Mark A. Smith

The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean

2014 winner
The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean
by Lindsay Littleson


Explore the blog by category

Click to select a category.