Share this

The Kelpies Prize 2018: Shortlist Announced!

Posted on 10/07/2018 in Edinburgh International Book Festival The Kelpies Prize

Our Kelpies Prize 2018 Shortlist

Thank you to all the authors who submitted their titles for consideration for the Kelpies Prize 2018! After a difficult (but still enjoyable!) judging process, we are thrilled to announce that this year’s shortlisted books are:

Haunted Tide by Celia Bryce

Darkly atmospheric with a supernatural twist, Haunted Tide is a gripping and intensely readable tale set in the remote Scottish islands.

The Lost Wizard of Nine Witches Wood by Hannah Foley

Grab your enchanted bicycle and hold on tight! Wildly inventive and packed with fantastical thrills, The Lost Wizard of Nine Witches Wood is a warm and quirky whirlwind of an adventure, full of magical heart.

Over the Sea to Skye by Robin Scott-Elliot

A thrilling twist on one of the most dramatic moments in Scotland’s history, Over the Sea to Skye is a historical adventure full of danger and intrigue, set against the backdrops of both the Jacobite Rebellion and the Cold War.

The winner of the Kelpies Prize 2018 will be announced on 24th August at the Edinburgh International Book Festival. To find out more about about the books and authors you can read our shortlist information sheet.

Kelpies Prize 2019 – Watch This Space

Do you have a brilliant idea for a children’s book set in Scotland? We will launch the Kelpies Prize 2019 soon, with some exciting changes! Watch this space for more information.

Kelpies Prize – Previous Winners

Hearty congratulations to Emily Illett, who won the Kelpies Prize 2017 with her beautiful, lyrical tale of sisterhood, The Girl Who Lost Her Shadow. Find out more about our recent winners below, or see our full list of previous winners and shortlisters.

Ruby McCraken: Tragic Without Magic

2016 winner
Ruby McCracken: Tragic Without Magic
by Elizabeth Ezra

Slugboy Saves the World

2015 winner
Slugboy Saves the World
by Mark A. Smith

The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean

2014 winner
The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean
by Lindsay Littleson


Explore the blog by category

Click to select a category.