Share this

The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean

Lindsay Littleson

£3.99

Also available as: Paperback

Range: Kelpies eBook 192 pages ISBN: 9781782501893 Publication date: 23rd April 2015
Genres: Ghosts and Spells, School Theme: Empathy Ideal for ages: 8, 9, 10 and 11
Reasons why this is the BEST summer ever:
I get a FREE holiday, all on my own! (Except for Gran.)
That’s a whole week without my moany, vampire-obsessed
teenage sister or my little brother - the terrible twosome.
I get to miss my primary school Leavers’ Dance and avoid
wearing my sister’s ghastly hand-me-down pink dress!

Reasons why this is the WORST summer ever:
Marshmallow ice cream can’t f ix everything. (Yes, seriously!)
I’ve made a new friend who tells me ALL her secrets… but I
can’t tell her mine.
My secret? I’m hearing a voice, and either I’m being
haunted or I’m going crazy. And I don’t know which is worse…

Reviews

'Admirably short and an easy read, but still full of everything that’s important in life. And now I want to go to Cumbrae.'
-- Bookwitch

'Funny, beautifully written, original and finally extremely moving, this is young teen fiction at its best.'
-- Nicholas Tucker, Carousel

'This is an amazingly assured début novel. Lindsay Littleson is a terrific writer, and I for one can't wait to see what she writes next.'
-- John K. Fulton, chimneyrabbit.com

'... a charming story set on the West Coast of Scotland. This is a perfect summer story all about families, friends and well some very weird happenings.'
-- Armadillo

'This is a gently thought-provoking book, beautifully paced and cleverly structured and it should be on the shelves of every junior school library. Four stars.'
-- Books for Keeps

'A summer read to be read at any time of year. 10/10'
-- Nayu's Reading Corner

'A gripping and exciting read that gets a big thumbs up from us.'
-- PoweredByReading.com

'... a fun and quirky read, ideal for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Webb.'
-- Children's Books Ireland

'This book is a joy to read'
-- Iram, Forrester High, Teen Titles

'Brimming with imagination and beautifully written... a charming and engaging read. With plenty of humour and a lovely plot twist this is a great novel for anyone aged 9 and above.'
-- Christina Banach, Author of Minty

Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean

Author

Lindsay Littleson is a primary school teacher in Renfrewshire, Scotland. Since taking up writing for children in early 2014 she has published a short story with Walker Books, in addition to winning the Kelpies Prize with her first children’s novel, The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily…

read more >